Field of 16 Set for NJCAA Division Two Tournament

by: Scott McCaulley

The field of 16 has been determined for the National Junior College Athletic Association Division Two Women’s Basketball National Championship Tournament which will be hosted for the third and final year at North Arkansas College.

The field this year includes five teams ranked in the National Top 10 Poll including the top three squads Illinois Central, North Iowa Area. and Moraine Valley from Illinois.

Illinois Central joins Cape Fear, North Carolina and Union County from New Jersey as the only returning teams from last year’s tournament while Moraine Valley along with Chesapeake, Maryland and Lackawanna, Pennsylvania return from the 2016 field.

Metropolitan/ Penn Valley from Kansas City, the team that eliminated North Arkansas College from the tournament last weekend, along with Kansas City, Kansas are among the schools making their first appearance in the tournament in Harrison.

The tournament pairings will be announced later this week with the teams arriving in Harrison for the Pre-Tournament Banquet next Monday with the tournament getting underway at Pioneer Pavilion the following day.

Field of 16

District      Team
A                Pima  21-11
B                Kansas City Kansas   28-4
C                Niagara County (NY)   31-0
D                Moraine Valley (IL)   32-1
E                North Iowa Area    27-5
F                North Platte (NE)  8-22
G               Lake Michigan (MI) 27-5
H               Wayne County (MI)  17-12
I                 Sinclair (OH)   26-4
J                 Cape Fear (NC)   25-4
K                Chesapeake (MD)  20-5
L                South Suburban (IL)   28-5
M               Illinois Central   31-1
N               Union County (NJ)   27-4
O               Lackawanna (PA)   25-7
P               Metropolitan (MO)   17-9

This is the final year of the three year contract to host the Division Two Tournament at North Arkasnas College. NJCAA has announced that St. Clair, Michigan will host the tournament for three years beginning in 2020.