Ozark Opportunities Begins Winter Assistance Programs


Ozark Opportunities Inc. is announcing the winter non-emergency Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP) to assist low-income households begins Monday. The program’s goal is to help households cope with the high cost of electricity or fuel used for heating. It will run through March 31st or until funds have been depleted.

The winter Crisis Emergency Assistance program is scheduled to begin Feb. 11th.

All applicants will be required to furnish proof of income for all household members for the month prior to application and provide a copy of electric, propane and/or natural gas bills. An identification will be required for the person applying. Other information may be requested at the time of application including proof of resources and county in which the applicant resides.

Although non-emergency assistance does not require an appointment, all other services do. Applications can be dropped of or mailed in to the applicable office for each county. For all other programs an appointment needs to be made over the phone. Walk-ins are welcome, however appointments take priority.

The Boone County office is located at 1856 Church Park Drive, Suite C, in Harrison. The contact number 870-741-2089, and the fax number is 870-741-2090.

The Baxter County office is located at 1318 Bradley Drive, Suite 16 in Mountain Home. The phone number is 870-425-5118 or 870-421-0256.

The Marion County office is located at 300 West 11th Street in Yellville, but mail should be addressed to the Mountain Home location. The number to call is 870-449-6250, 870-425-5118 or 870-421-0256.

The Searcy County office is located at 110 Ruff Street in Marshall, but mail needs to go to P.O. Box 473, Clinton, AR 72031. The number there is 870-448-2414 or 501-757-0155.

The Newton County office is located at 506 West Court in Jasper, but mail needs to be addressed to the Harrison office. The number to call is 870-446-2222 or 870-741-2089. The fax number is 870-741-2090.

Office hours for Baxter and Boone counties are Mondays from 8:00 until 11:30 and 1:00 until 4:00. Marion, Newton, and Searcy counties are open Tuesdays from 8:00 until 11:30 and 1:00 until  3:30.

Applications can be printed from the Ozark Opportunities, Inc. website at ozarkopp.org. Scroll to Community Services, and click Utility Assistance.

%d bloggers like this: