Harrison Council
New Harrison Mayor Jerry Jackson conducting first Meeting New Year’s Day. (Photo by Coleman Taylor)

by: Coleman Taylor

The Harrison City Council met in special session New Year’s Day with business including swearing in of new City Council Members, appointing committee chairs and introducing the new police and fire chiefs.

Committee Chairs are as follows:

Joel Williams – Community Environment, Services, and Welfare

Mitch Magness – Finance

Linda DeWald – Internal Affairs

Mary Jean Creager – Public Safety

Bill Boswell – Public Works & Transportation

In addition Wayne Crone was selected to be the Mayor Pro Tempore.

New Mayor Jerry Jackson also introduced his selections for Harrison Police and Fire Chief. Mark Lowery will serve as the Fire Chief for Harrison while Chris Graddy has been appointed as the Chief of Police.

Both Chief Graddy and Mayor Jackson spoke of their commitment to deal with the growing problem of illegal narcotics in Harrison.

Mayor Jackson handed out a six month plan and goals to all council members and spoke of his appreciation and excitement about the new additions to the Harrison City Council. In his comments Mayor Jackson expressed his hope to move the city offices to a new city hall in the future, mentioning the Durand Center as a possibility if the city decides to purchase the facility. He also mentioned the possibility of including the Police Headquarters in the same move.

The next committee meeting will be held at 6:00 PM on January 10th and the next meeting of the city council will be at 6:00 PM on January 24th. At that time Mayor Jackson’s six month plans will be discussed in further detail.