Arkansas Early Primary Runoff Voting Underway, Election Next Week

by: Scott McCaulley

Early voting is now underway for the Arkansas Primary Runoff Elections for those races that did not get clear majorities in the Primary Election back in May.

While voters in the City of Harrison will not cast ballots, voters in parts of Boone County in House District 83 can vote in the Republican run-off election between Donald Ragland and Keith Slape. Ragland, currently finishing the unexpired term of David Branscum in District 83, edged out Slape, currently the Sheriff of Newton County, in the May 22 Primary. District 83 also includes part of Carroll County as well as Newton and Searcy Counties.

The only other races in the region to be decided next week will be the Republican Primary for Newton County Sheriff between Glenn Wheeler and Mike Henderson as well as the Republican Primary for Carroll County Sheriff between Alan Hoos and Jim Ross.

The winner of the Carroll County Sheriff’s race will face off against Democrat Mark Bailey in the November General Election while the other two races don’t face any opposition in the General Election.

Early Voting takes place the rest of this week and next Monday. Voters in Boone County can vote at the Election Center on Central Avenue while voters in other counties will vote at locations designated by their respective County Clerk’s Offices.

The Primary Run-Off Election is next Tuesday (June 19) with the polls open from 7:30 AM-7:30 PM.