Disaster Relief Funding Approved for NWAR

Posted by


by Shannon Cay


HARRISON, Ark. – Senators and local Northwest Arkansas representatives announce more than 48-million dollars in federal funding is approved for Arkansas disaster relief.

According to the release, this money is mostly for rebuilding and repairing roads and critical infrastructure damaged by heavy rains and floods.

Several counties throughout the state were approved for disaster assistance last year including Baxter, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Marion, and Newton counties.

Over the last several years, Arkansas has experienced several rounds of adverse weather dramatically affecting many communities across the state.

Governor Asa Hutchinson issued disaster declarations for 36 counties and two cities in May 2017 after severe weather conditions resulted in widespread damage to many areas. He had previously designated 17 counties as disaster areas in 2015 following severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes.

The money will be divided as follows:

  • Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department: $40 million
  • National Park Service: $41,490
  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers: $5 million
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service: $715, 226
  • U.S. Forest Service: $3.165 million