Valley Springs Tax Passes, Other Special Election Results


by Scott McCaulley and Shannon Cay


HARRISON, Ark. – Voters in the Valley Springs School District have passed the Millage Tax to help upgrade their school facilities.

According to the numbers from the Secretary of State’s Office submitted from the Boone County Courthouse, the Yes votes were 457, the No votes 348.

According to Valley Springs School Officials,  the 6.9 % Millage Tax increase will be applied to fund the construction of a new high school as well as upgrades to several over existing school buildings.

Officials say this will provide around 6-point-8 million dollars in funding for the school district.

Also Tuesday, voters in the region cast ballots in two Special Elections:

House District 83
J Donald Ragland wins the Republican Election and the House Seat by a 1, 279 to 1, 091 margin over Timmy Reid. With no Democratic Challenger and with over 50% of the vote, Ragland will take the seat vacated when former Rep. David Branscum resigned last November to take a job as state director of rural development with the United States Department of Agriculture.

Senate District 16
The first step in filling this seat vacated with the death of Greg Standridge last year results in two of the candidates moving on to a run-off election . Breanne Davis received 2,438 votes followed by Robert Bailey with 2,323 votes and Luke Heffley 854. Davis and Baily will move on to a run-off Election on March 13 with the winner their to face Democrat Teresa Gallegos on May 22.