Firewood Quarantine Issued in Arkansas

thumb_7326a9d4e6e78b2ARKANSAS – The Arkansas State Plant Board calls for an emergency quarantine on certain types of wood in 25 counties to help prevent the spread of an invasive beetle.

The quarantine restricts the transportation of firewood out of the county in hopes of slowing down the spread of the emerald ash borer.

The beetle was originally found in Michigan and is to blame for killing millions of ash trees in the United States.

The beetle has been confirmed in Clark, Columbia, Dallas, Hot Spring, Nevada and Ouachita counties. Columbia, Dallas, Hot Spring, Nevada and Ouachita counties. Other counties included in the quarantine are: Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Cleveland, Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Howard, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Miller, Montgomery, Pike, Saline, Sevier and Union counties are also included in the quarantine.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
On Key

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: